Is Whey Gluten-free? 4 Best Gluten-free Whey Powder Products In 2023
Whey protein drinks are widespread among gym-goers and people who want to ensure they receive adequate protein during the day. But is whey gluten-free?
If you’re stuck with this question, today’s post is for you! Keep on reading to know the answer. We’ll also introduce the 4 best whey protein products for gluten-sensitive people!
Note: This blog contains relevant Amazon products that we earn a small commission to fund our blog while not incurring any extra cost to you.
What Is Whey? And Is Whey Gluten-free?
Whey is a naturally existing substance abundant in cow’s milk, and it accounts for more than 80% of milk protein (casein taking up the remaining 20%).
Whey segregates from the remaining raw milk in dairy commodities’ production, such as cheese, curds, and yogurt, and is subsequently ground to a powder. To make whey extract more appetizing, flavors such as cocoa, caramel, or fruit are introduced.
Aside from their practicality and delectable tastes, whey protein products are today’s favorites of so many people. They also provide essential amino acids required for good skin, hormonal balance, and neurotransmitters.
On each product, you might notice labels like “whey concentrate,” “whey isolate,” or “whey hydrolysate.” Whey concentrate, which undergoes the least processing, has more fat, carbs, and lactose than whey isolate and whey hydrolysate.
Meanwhile, whey isolate is a more refined, treated compound that contains at least 90% protein by mass. When whey isolate breaks down under higher heat, we have whey hydrolysates. The high temperature also disrupts amino acid linkages and enables this type of whey protein to digest more quickly.
So, does whey have gluten?
Short answer: No, whey protein does not contain gluten. Indeed, whey is gluten-free in its pure form and suitable for celiac patients regardless of the type.
Whey Protein Powder: What Is It?
If you’re into bodybuilding, you might have previously spotted those large 5-pound bottles at supplement stores and the retail packs in supermarkets. At events or gyms, you might even find the samples for free tasting.
Indeed, whey protein is all over the place nowadays, but why is it?
Protein, along with carbs and fat, is among the “top 3” macronutrients that constitute most of the human diet. It’s in charge of healing our muscle tissues after throwing ourselves into the rigors of a gym day or just moving on with our everyday lives.
But, if you do work out, you’ll see that the protein demand is somewhat high — far higher than the typical American diet has to offer. Indeed, many of our regular foods are carb-heavy; meanwhile, protein-rich meals are not as readily available for fast and simple treats.
That’s when whey protein powder comes in. Thanks to its convenience and nutritional value, the product has become a must-have for gym lovers. Indeed, it provides at least 20g of whey in one serving and only calls for a few steps to have an after-gym drink.
Whey protein is most typically consumed in dry powder, and smoothies or snacks prepared with it could promote muscle growth and uphold muscle strength while reducing fat tissue.
Is Whey Powder Gluten-Free or Not?
Protein powder offers some obvious benefits, but if you’re on a gluten-free meal plan or suffer from gluten intolerance, you’ll need to check if the product contains gluten or not.
Let’s begin with the great news: many of the best whey protein supplements are gluten-free and 100% from whey, which means you could safely have your whey supplements without concern.
Yet, some whey protein products feature extra additives like flavoring agents, stabilizers, or artificial sweeteners. And unfortunately, some of these extra ingredients contain gluten. In other words, even though your whey is gluten-free, you still face the risk of consuming gluten if other ingredients contain gluten.
Moreover, when a whey protein product is processed within the same factory as gluten-containing items, it still poses the possibility of cross-contamination.
Post you might like
- Ice Cream or I Scream: Weirdest Ice Cream Flavors
- Lists Of Dumbest Zodiac Signs And Animals You Don’t Want to Miss
- Butter Is Not A Carb, But How Much Calories Are In A Stick Of Butter?
- Want More Of Starbuck’s Almond Milk Latte’s? Here Are The Top Drinks You Must Try
How To Know If Your Product Is Gluten-free
Nutritional products, such as whey powders, are not governed by the authorities. Therefore, although many whey protein products claim “pure whey” or “100% whey” on the cover, you will often find multiple extra components rather than pure whey protein if you check the ingredient panel.
Since companies add extra components to produce different flavors of whey protein supplements, remember to read the ingredients before buying any product.
Below are some of the ingredients to look out for as they may be a potential source of gluten in items that might claim themselves gluten-free.
- brewer’s yeast
- graham flour
- hydrolyzed wheat protein
- modified wheat starch
- oats, unless they are certified gluten-free
- natural and artificial flavors
- certain types of food coloring
- modified food starch
However, if you suffer from severe conditions that prohibit gluten consumption, whenever checking a whey protein supplement online or in-store, make a habit of seeking the certified gluten-free badge on the bottle or package.
In the US, there are fixed standards to verify a gluten-free product. If an item has no more than 20 ppm of gluten, it receives the FDA’s stamp of certification. If you’ve been eating gluten-free for a while, you’ll probably recognize the signature “GF” mark.
People experiencing extreme gluten sensitivity or celiac disease should be extra cautious while purchasing whey and check for the Gluten-Free Certification Organization’s seal (GFCO). This assures that the product has no more than 10 ppm of gluten, which is twice more rigorous than the standard FDA’s requirement.
If you’re worried about cross-contamination within the whey manufacturing operation, it’s best to ask the supplier. Choose a brand that handles whey production carefully and stay with them to avoid taking any additional risks.
4 Best Gluten-free Whey Powder Products In 2023
TGS All Natural Unsweetened Whey Protein Powder
If you’re looking for an unflavored yet high-quality whey protein supplement, this all-natural whey product from TGS Nutrition fits the bill perfectly.
TGS All Natural Unsweetened Whey Protein Powder is an excellent product.
Because it is unflavored, you may employ it in many recipes without worrying about the overall taste. In other words, this protein powder offers you full power to create anything you like with it, from low-calorie cocoa to extracts and organic drinks.
Another remarkable feature of this whey powder is that it only includes 2 organic components. As this product only contains whey protein concentrate plus sunflower lecithin as components, your body will only receive the elements it requires and, of course, no gluten.
- It’s unflavored, so you may create different dishes without affecting the final taste of the dish.
- Each serving contains at least 25g of protein.
- The product has no GMO, soy, gluten, or rBGH growth hormone.
- It’s super safe to consume
- Not suitable for those who want to avoid artificial sweeteners (the original taste is unflavored, so you need to add flavors in yourself)
Bodylogix Natural Grass-Fed Whey Protein Powder
Bodylogix is a trustworthy business with 10 years of experience. Thus, it’s no doubt that their Bodylogix Natural Protein Powder is also one of the top gluten-free whey protein products.
The primary component of this product is whey protein concentrate, accompanied by isolate plus hydrolysate, which are all gluten-free and safe for celiac patients.
Bodylogix Natural Grass-Fed Whey Protein Powder is another product you should try.
Since it is a whey mix, it contains a high fat and carb profile. By that, we suggest 2.5g of fat, 0.5g of which is saturated one, and 3g of carbohydrates.
People love Bodylogix because it’s a good source of protein, with 24g of protein in each serving. Furthermore, the whey in this product is all from grass-fed cows, which is a massive bonus if you’re all about quality.
Another thing to remember is that the product has no artificial ingredients, food dyes, or additives. Finally, it is available in different flavors, including vanilla bean, rich choco, and caramel chocolate.
- As an all-natural product, 24g of protein is a great offer.
- It’s fast to prepare; this would be one of your top priorities if you appreciate having your drinks on the run.
- It has a pleasant taste.
- It contains no artificial ingredients.
- Some may find it a bit too sweet.
- It is not supplemented with vitamins or minerals.
Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein Powder
The Super Advanced Whey Powder is made for strength training and bodybuilding and is rich in proteins and other minerals. You won’t be disappointed with this product, which delivers 60g of protein every 2-scoop serving.
Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein Powder is perfect for bodybuilders.
It also contains 6g of carbohydrates and 3.5g of fat, of which 1.5g are saturated. However, what truly makes this whey protein stand out is the presence of micronutrients like calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, salt, and potassium.
Furthermore, it contains creatine, taurine, and L-Glutamine, which support the healthy development of muscles and tissues.
To fulfill your everyday protein needs, mix one scoop with 6-8 ounces of your drink of choice. Drink this mixture in 10 mins after mixing for the best result.
- It has a high protein content.
- The product is micronutrient-rich, essential for healthy muscle growth and maintenance.
- Creatine, taurine, and L-Glutamine are among the extra muscle-building components found in this supplement.
- It delivers lots of cholesterol.
- It has artificial sweeteners.
Dymatize ISO 100 Whey Protein Powder
The lactose-free Dymatize ISO 100 is an excellent alternative if protein supplements give you stomach pains.
Indeed, this is among a few gluten-free whey protein products manufactured from hydrolyzed whey isolate. While it includes a bit of whey isolate, most of it is hydrolyzed whey, which helps in quick and effortless digestion.
Dymatize ISO 100 Whey Protein Powder is also lactose-free.
If you’re a picky drinker, this lactose-free protein powder is available in several flavors, including premium choco, exquisite vanilla, strawberry, and peanut butter.
Every serving contains 25g of protein, 2 g of carbohydrates, delivering 120 calories, and under 1g of fat. Moreover, It is one of the top gluten-free whey powders for obesity treatment due to its minimal fat and sugar level.
Our only complaint about this Dymatize is that it’s a bit too salty. It has a sodium content of 160mg, which is on the upper end of the scale. However, if you wish to bring this with you in training sessions, the additional salt will help to replenish what you lose while exercising.
- Lactose-intolerant people will enjoy this product.
- It has little fat and sugar
- You can mix the powder easily.
- Because of the small peptide structures, it digests in no time.
- It has a higher price than the above options.
Whey is gluten-free in its pure form. However, that does not mean all whey protein products are gluten-free! Thus, stick with our advice above when choosing a product to consume. Start with our reviewed products above if you don’t know where to begin! Give them a try!